My Ultimate Running Goal

Almost all runners have some sort of goal. Whether it’s to run a mile without walking, finish their first 5k, or qualify for the Boston Marathon, all goals are important. Goals help to keep us motivated with our training and strive for new levels of fitness. I have plenty of goals for my running. There are long-term, short-term, big goals, and smaller goals. Some of my goals are about running certain times, finishing certain races, but mostly just about having a good time. What’s the point of running if you don’t enjoy it, anyways? 

I first started running when I was in second grade. There was a track program that was offered in the summer that I wanted to do. I don’t remember much from it besides trying different field events and running the 100m dash. It took me a little longer to realize that I was a distance runner and not a sprinter. However, I loved running right from the beginning. I was a competitive little kid and I had a natural talent for the sport. I loved the feeling of accomplishment, the runner’s high, and the people I met. Some of my best friends I’ve made through running. Plus, when I was little I loved any prize I won – no matter how small. Ok, I still really enjoy prizes. 🙂

me running the 400m dash in the summer before sixth grade

 

As I’ve gotten older, though, I’ve come to love running even more – it’s my passion. It helps me clear my mind and makes me happy on a stressful day. I can leave in a grump about something and come back smiling and laughing.

When I look into the future about what I want to accomplish with my running, many things come to mind. My ultimate goal, though, is to still love running when I’m older. I don’t ever want my passion or drive for the sport to go away. I want to try new races, have fun experiences, and still love it when I’m older. I want to win the age group prize for the 70-80 year olds – not necessarily because I am running fast, but because I am the only one in my age group. Running PR’s and winning prizes can be really fun, but that’s not what I’m going to look back on and feel proud of when I’m older. The joy I get out of running is the ultimate prize. What’s your ultimate running goal?

Image

7 thoughts on “My Ultimate Running Goal

  1. Pingback: VACATION!!! | Joy Runner

  2. Pingback: Happy Blogiversary! | Joy Runner

  3. My goal is to run the Missoula half Marathon again this year. Last year I ran the first 8 miles and then had to be practically dragged through the last 5 especially the last 2-3. I could have fallen over and slept on someone’s front yard and been pretty happy around mile 12. But this year I would like to just run all 13. Last year I hadn’t ever run a mile before I started training, and originally we started out just signing up for a 5k. At the 5K I met some people and asked them if they were interested in the Missoula ½ but we didn’t really connect or commit until about 6 weeks before the race. So my training went a little on the side… but I made it. At one point I was hoping to finish in under 2 hours, but I will be happy if I cross that finish line, run, walk or crawl…no matter what the time! Thanks for the inspiration and great tips Larel!

    • Thanks so much! Good luck in your half marathon! I’m sure it’ll go better than last year. The first one is always the toughest. My first half was kind of a disaster, but my PR is from my 2nd half if that’s any comfort to you. Good luck and have fun!

Leave a Reply

