High on Running

Have you ever experienced that feeling of euphoria? That feeling of being so incredibly happy that you couldn’t stop smiling? NO, I’M NOT TALKING ABOUT DRUGS. I’m talking about the runner’s high – the extreme joy that happens either during or after a run.

me at the end of the Downtown 10k. I look like I’m floating!

Last night I joined one of my friends for dinner right after finishing my run. Let’s just say that probably wasn’t a smart idea.

For people who don’t know, this is what I act like when I’m high on running;

  • Extremely chatty
  • Laughs at things that aren’t very funny
  • Excessive smiling
  • Gets easily excited

I think the funniest part about the runner’s high is that I get really talkative. As most of my friends know, I’m not exactly a “talker.” In fact, I’m kind of on the introverted side. When I’m in a large group of people I hardly ever talk. Anyways, when I get a runner’s high I’m quite the opposite. I can EASILY yack someone’s ear off. It can be about the most insignificant thing too, like, “Oh my god! I saw a squirrel when I was running!”

For some reason I don’t get it on every run, though (that would be awesome if I did!). For instance, if I have a really miserable workout then I oftentimes don’t get the high (disgusting weather, couldn’t finish the workout, feeling sick, etc.) The biggest culprit in high school was probably having a bad race. That was an extreme mood killer for me.

Even if I don’t get the runner’s high, though, I almost always feel better afterwards. I’ve never felt regretful after a run, but definitely have felt regretful for skipping it.

What do you act like after your run? Do you ever get the runner’s high?

4 thoughts on “High on Running

  1. Pingback: The Day I Realized I’m Not a Sprinter | Joy Runner

  2. Pingback: Winter Adventures | Joy Runner

  3. I know EXACTLY what you’re talking about, and get the same way! You can not shut me up! Normally happens after any race, or a particularly great run (i.e. new long distance, or just plain awesomeness!) 😀

Leave a Reply

