HELLO 2014!

Just a little over 24 hours until the New Year! All in all, 2013 was great for me, but I’m looking forward to 2014 now! In terms of running, this will probably be my biggest year yet. I’m ACTUALLY going to run a marathon. I’ve been dreaming about it since I was a little kid. I’ve always known that I was going to run one someday, but it’s hard to comprehend that I’m actually going to do it in less than five months!

With a new year right around the corner, it’s the perfect time to get back into the swing of training. I took some time off after my last half marathon (Nov 30th) so that I could get a physical and mental break from running. After a long training cycle, I believe it’s good to take a little time to recover and get motivated again.

Anyways, I took the last month pretty easy – not completely off, but I cut back my mileage by about half and added in some cross-training. I’m finally feeling eager to get back to a normal routine of running and get in shape for my next race.

A few New Years jokes to make you smile

meme

meme 2

meme 3

ClipLight continued…

Remember that ClipLight that I wrote about a few posts back? Well, it lasted all of about two runs. Actually, not even. I’ve been going running in the town over from me in this little neighborhood lately. I get out of work too late and it’s dark by the time I would finish with my run if I came straight home. My road can get kind of busy, so this little neighborhood is perfect. It can get a little tedious because I have to keep doing this 15-minute loop, but it’s better than not running at all.

Anyways, I clipped my light onto the bottom of my shirt and a few minutes into the run I decided to turn it on because it was getting a little dark. And…. Yep, it’s not there. Lovely. I did the loop again hoping that I would be able to spot it, but not very hopeful since it was already getting dark.

Then as I was finishing up my run, I spotted something glowing on the other side of the road. Almost laughing, I crossed to find my light slightly buried in the slushy snow! A car must have run over it perfectly to turn it on. The part that clips onto my shirt unfortunately broke, but my dad thinks he can fix it somehow. I’ll let you know how that goes!

I think the jacket I wore yesterday might not have been thick enough for the clip to hold on to. If it does get fixed, then I’ll make sure to fold my clothing a little at the ends to make sure it’s a tight fit and I don’t lose it again.

oops….

oops….

Happy New Years everyone! I hope it’s a great one!

Are you looking forward to 2014? Anything in particular?

11 thoughts on “HELLO 2014!

  1. I cannot wait for your marathon recap!! I want to run another half this year, but mentally I am not ready to run a full marathon… especially with work and school. One day though I will! But I’m so excited for yours!

    • Thanks! I’m so excited for it – almost too much, haha! Good luck if you decide to do another half this year, or good luck with any other races! Happy New YEars!

  2. Uncle Mark and I thoroughly enjoyed your “New Years Jokes” printed them for our Family Game Night this evening – wish u guys were here!!! Admire your due-diligence and having a plan – Luv to all – Aunt Pat

  3. Happy new year! Best of luck with the marathon! You’re smart to be doing it after having running halves. Too many people start with a marathon and wind up injured and discouraged. You’ll do great!

    • Thanks so much! I hope I’m doing it the right way. I’m finally comfortable with the half, definitely not perfected, but I’m comfortable with it. I finally feel like I’m ready for a new challenge. Good luck with your Disney races! They sound like so much fun. Happy New Year!

  4. Awesome! I’m excited for you and the marathon. Planning on running three full marathons and at least 3 half this year. My goal is to work up to a triathlon. The first 60 days of the year will be spent finishing up my PhD. But everyday of this year (and lifetime) will be filled with me doing whatever I can to share kindness and love with those I encounter. Wishing you love, joy, peace and happy running, -J

    • Sounds like a whole lot of running – awesome! I’ve always wanted to try a triathlon, but I’m a really bad swimmer. That’ll be awesome to do! Have fun! Happy New Years!

Leave a Reply

