Winter Adventures

IMG_0057

Running in the winter is unpredictable and unreliable, to say the least. In the past few weeks, the weather has gone from an ice storm that left us without power, to more snow, to freezing cold, to more snow. The winter isn’t even halfway over and I’ve already run in below zero degree (Fahrenheit) weather!

With only a week left of my winter break, I’ve been doing my best to catch up with friends, which of course means going on some runs with them. Last Thursday, I went for a run with my friend on the bike path when it was below zero out. I wore my spandex pants, wool socks, a shirt, two jackets, a balaclava, a hat, and mittens. For anyone that doesn’t know, this is what a balaclava looks like – it’s kind of a hat/face-warmer/neck-warmer combined. Awesomeness!

I'm a ninja!

I’m a ninja!

All of the layers made it actually comfortable to run in. My only complaint is that our eyelashes froze! Plus, my Raynauld’s kicked in after the run. Hellooooo winter!

See my 3rd-5th fingers? That's what Raynauld's looks like.

See my 3rd-5th fingers? That’s what Raynauld’s looks like.

I’ve also been getting in some miles at the gym on days that I work because it’s too dark when I get out. I’m not a big fan of the dreadmill, so I run on the indoor track. I’ll switch between the upper and lower tracks so that I can switch directions and hopefully not mess up my hips as much. Last Friday I got in 10 miles there. Although I’m not a huge fan of listening to music when I run, I do resort to it when I’m at the gym. It makes things a little less boring. Unfortunately, my left hip is paying for running around a 160-meter track. I’ve been getting in some dates with the foam roller, though.

IMG_0125

Although winter may not be my favorite season for running, I’m still grateful to be out there! Even in the cold and the snow, I get the same runner’s high afterwards. Plus, winter sure can be pretty. I’ll end with a few pictures I’ve taken on my runs lately and a cool video about winter running. Enjoy!

IMG_0124

IMG_0076

How has your winter running been going? 

8 thoughts on “Winter Adventures

  1. It’s amazingly warm in Germany this year’s winter. I stacked up on winter running clothing in November and haven’t used any of it once. Temperatures are in the mid-40s constantly and it’s almost always dry (though grey). Good for runners but it worrisome somehow.

    • I could like having the weather in the mid-40’s. Maybe I should take a trip to Germany, haha! What is the weather normally like where you live during the winter?

      • Well, that’s the thing. It’s supposed to get cold and stay around freezing point for a longer period. But it’s unusually mild and warm. It’s not good for plants, bugs, birds, and so on. Not good for the vines in Germany’s largest wine region where I live. Not good for what’s left of glaciers in the Alpes to the South near Austria and Switzerland. Not good at all. We just hope it’s not much to do with global warming…and enjoy…:-)

        • I see. Hopefully it doesn’t have much to do with global warming. It can be scary to think about. I think Vermont and Germany need to average each other out this winter. Vermont seems unusually cold for this soon into the winter. Although I’m sure that global warming is taking its toll on Vermont as well…

  2. After spending the past 5 years in South Dakota, I can relate to this post. I definitely found out that the right clothes can make all the difference based on the weather. Anything to get outside and run.

    • I’ve heard that the weather can get pretty cold in South Dakota! Yeah, I think it all depends on the clothes. Although, I’m not so sure that I want to run in weather below -10, haha!

Leave a Reply

