And it Begins…

Helloooooo second semester! I moved back into my dorm yesterday and classes began today. I had a nice long break and am feeling ready to get back into the swing of things. I even added a few more running posters to my collection in my room.

IMG_0156

Welcome Mary Cain and Mo Farah to my wall!

Of course I had to start my first day of classes with something running related. No, I didn’t go for a run before class (I’m not much of a morning runner). I registered for the Half Marathon Unplugged bright and early – 6am to be specific. I heard that last year the race filled up pretty quickly, so I wasn’t going to take any chances. It looks like the first wave is filled up, but the second wave is still open to anyone that might be interested! Register quick!

unplugged logo

About the Race

The race is on April 12th and has two waves – one at 9am and the other at 11am. It starts in Colchester and goes along the Burlington bike path. It’s super flat and is therefore a super fast course! It’s a really good price – just $32. The title reads, “No Frills, No Hills!” The race covers all of the basic services for a race such as a few water stations, timing, results, food, and bus transportation. There aren’t any awards, medals, race day registration, and you have to pay extra for a shirt or hat. It does look like there are photos taken during the race and a complimentary yoga session the next day, though!

Since it’s a month before my marathon I thought it would be a good time to test out my fitness level and also get a good workout in. I’ve finally gotten to the point that half marathons aren’t that physically strenuous for me. My past two I’ve only been a little sore the next day, but really just fine. I remember after my first half I could barely walk up/down stairs for a good four or five days. It’s nice to see how far I’ve come.

What’s on my plate this semester?

  • Anatomy
  • Bio
  • Abnormal Psych
  • Anthropology
  • Marathon training!!!!!!

It’s been nice catching up with most of my friends today – I missed them! I’ve also missed my running routes around here. I absolutely LOVE running in Burlington – all the bike paths around here are awesome and I haven’t even explored all of them yet! Unfortunately, when I went to go on the UVM bikepath today, this is what it looked like…

sooooooooo much ice!!!!

sooooooooo much ice!!!!

There were literally a few inches of ice covering the entire thing. Now, I know that my Yaktrax can do a pretty good job of stopping me from slipping, but I’m not sure that they’re meant to tackle that much ice. I had to resort to trying to run on the sidewalks and doing loops around campus, which were less icy. Luckily, it was a short run. It looks like the next few days are going to be warmer out, so maybe it’ll melt. I’m hoping so at least!

Is anyone else trying to survive the ice? What’s on your plate for next semester/next year?

4 thoughts on “And it Begins…

  1. Wow, that sounds like a really interesting concentration! I’ve never heard of a major like that. I might be switching into Chem 32 (just the second part of general chemistry). Chem is not my strong suit, but I need it for PT school. Hopefully it’ll go okay!

  2. I’m glad to see someone else who is a science major, AND blogs about running experiences! Good luck with your Spring semester, and with your marathon training!

    • Thanks, Mark! yes, we definitely have a lot in common! now I might be switching from my antrho class to chemistry, so even MORE science based. oh goodness. What’s your major? and good luck with your next semester and training as well!

      • My major is an individual concentration titled “Applying Biomedical Neuroscience in Philosophy”. Which chemistry class are you planning on switching? It will be fun (weird, I know, but it will be worth it)!

Leave a Reply

