THE POLAR VORTEX

lake champlain 2

Lake Champlain

            I was mistaken when I thought that the extreme cold was over. This week the weather dropped back into the negatives (F). When I went to bike to work on Thursday it was literally -11 degrees out… I don’t even want to know what the temperature was including wind chill.

This, right here. This is NOT SUPPOSED TO HAPPEN. Doors are not meant to be frozen….

door2

            Granted to say that I have had to resort to running inside for a few runs this week. Luckily, I’ve had some great friends join me to circle around the indoor track. When you get lost in conversation, the time can passes sooooo much quicker!

This week is also the first week in my marathon training cycle that I have added in some speed work. After a short break in December, I picked my running back up and had a few weeks for base building. This is my first time training for a full marathon and also my first time doing marathon specific workouts. I am using one of Hal Higdon’s training plans, but with some of my own modifications to it.

Everyone has their own philosophy on “the long run” for marathon training. I think everyone can pretty much agree that it is important, though! The long run in the plan I’m following by Hal Higdon is kind of done in two days. The first day is a run at goal marathon pace and the second day contains most of the miles. The speed work from the day before is supposed to make your legs feel slightly sluggish and therefore simulate what the end of a race feels like. Although the long run on the second day is not at a fast pace, the workout from the day before is supposed to make it more challenging.

Even though the weather has been freezing cold, the views are still just as pretty. I was actually able to head down to the bike path yesterday for a run and I didn’t freeze my butt off! Yay!

Lake Champlain again.

Lake Champlain again.

Instagram!!!! 

I got an account pretty recently (joyrunner6) and I’ll be posting cool photos/videos about running/fitness/randomness, so you should go check it out and follow me.

How has the weather been where you are? Have you had to resort to running inside too? Anyone else follow a Hal Higdon training plan? Thoughts?

4 thoughts on “THE POLAR VORTEX

  1. Pingback: Marathon Eve | Joy Runner

  2. It’s a shame you’ve had to run inside, but you’re so lucky to have an indoor track. I’d love to try running on one of those, as my only option when I can’t run outside is the dreadmill. While a track is hardly a replacement for nature, at least you are moving forward! Best of luck with the marathon training – enjoy it, it’ll be a fantastic journey! The long runs are really important, and personally I usually find them mentally much tougher than physically. I love them though, they are a good chance to spend a good few hours on my feet, doing what I love. For me, they are all about learning more about my body and learning to read the signs. It’s about doing what I need to in order to stay phyiscally comfortable and able to go on and on and on.

    • Yeah, I’m definitely lucky that I have an indoor track to run on. Still boring, but at least I feel like I’m moving forward. I can’t stand the dreadmill, but it still is better than no run at all. Thanks so much for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

