Boston Marathon 2014

my parents and I waiting for the runners...

my parents and I waiting for the runners…

The Boston Marathon is always a special race, but this year was definitely more special than others. There was so much spirit, resilience, and patriotism. It made me feel proud to be an American. Plus, it got me all pumped up for my first marathon!

We watched the first 45 minutes or so on the television at home and then scooted over to mile 25 to claim some good spectator spots. I was following live tweets on my phone about the race the whole time and was freaking out. Here are a few of the photos I got today. I felt like I could just reach out and touch the runners. It was pretty amazing!

 

American woman Tatyana McFadden on her way to a win!

American woman Tatyana McFadden on her way to a win!

lots of police out

lots of police out

we were right across from the medical tent

we were right across from the medical tent

Rita Jeptoo on the way to her 3rd Boston Marathon win!

Rita Jeptoo on the way to her 3rd Boston Marathon win!

the battle for 2nd...

the battle for 2nd…

IMG_1503

Shalane Flanagan representing the US! She gave the race a valiant effort and ran a PR of 2:22! She may not have won, but she made us all proud.

Shalane Flanagan representing the US! She gave the race a valiant effort and ran a PR of 2:22! She may not have won, but she made us all proud.

American Desiree Linden coming in at 10th place!

American Desiree Linden coming in at 10th place!

American Meb Keflezighi on his way to winning the Boston Marathon! He is the first American to win the race in 31 years. It was so incredible to watch!

American Meb Keflezighi on his way to winning the Boston Marathon! He is the first American to win the race in 31 years. It was so incredible to watch!

Wilson Chebet trying to chase down Meb

Wilson Chebet trying to chase down Meb

Ryan Hall! He has been dealing with some injuries in the past year, but it was great to see him back out there on the race course.

Ryan Hall! He has been dealing with some injuries in the past year, but it was great to see him back out there on the race course.

The race was so incredible to watch. To have Meb Keflezighi win the men’s race was just incredible. When he ran by us at mile 25 he looked strong, but so did Wilson. I was worried he was going to get chased down, but was so elated to find out that he finished the race out strong. To have an American win the race after what happened last year was amazing.

Shalane Flanagan also ran a great race. Even though she didn’t win, she made us all proud. She ran a gutsy race and kept the pace “honest.” Oftentimes Boston ends up being a kicker’s race (slow at first with a blistering finish), but she made sure that didn’t happen. She ran 2:22:02, which is a personal best for her and is also the fastest marathon ever run by an American woman at Boston. She has to be proud of that!

Today was incredible and I’m looking forward to my marathon now more than ever! It’s been hard to picture myself actually running the 26.2, but after today it seems more real.

How was your marathon Monday? Did you run in Boston? Did you watch the race?

12 thoughts on “Boston Marathon 2014

  1. That is so awesome that you got to experience that! I hope to one day be able to watch it in person – and hopefully run it in person too! I did watch this year on TV though! So exciting!

    • yeah, it was super exciting! It’s fun to watch it on tv, though. I didn’t realize that Meb was in the lead when he ran by because I hadn’t seen most of the race on tv. I guess that made it even more exciting, though!

  2. Didnt watch so its great to see your pictures and here your commentary. Did run and think i had a PR – does that mean personal best or something? Anyway ran a mile in just over 12 min which is fast for me – haha :~) thanks so much for sharing hope you had a great birthday!!

Leave a Reply

