Taper Madness

grumpy-cat-tapering

Two days to go until my marathon! Woot woot! This last week has been very stressful with exams and all, but they’re finally over. Thank goodness.

I think that because I was so busy studying for finals I didn’t get the full on taper madness as most runners do. I just didn’t have the time to get worried about running less because I had so much work to do. I didn’t mind just going for a half hour run on Thursday. In fact, it was kind of nice. If I had to spend the normal hour and a half training I would’ve been stressed about not having enough time for my studies.

However, I did get a tad crazy over my taper. As you could probably tell from my last post, this mainly involved freaking out about getting sick. The majority of my close friends got sick this week, which turned me into a germaphobe. My hands are dry from washing my hands so much! With only two days left until the race I think I’m in the clear (knock on wood).

sick-meme-oprah-cold-flu-2013-02-19

In my taper madness, I’ve also been obsessing about race day weather. As of now it looks like there is a high of 72, low of 51, wind at 12mph, and a 0% chance of rain. A little hot for my likes, but not too bad. Luckily, the race starts at 7:30 and I will be done around 11:00ish is everything goes all right, so it won’t be super hot by then (hopefully). Overall, not too bad. After the last Vermont City Marathon (40 degrees and rainy), I’m okay with it being warmer.

Tomorrow we’ll be headed up to Maine for the expo and will be staying overnight there. I can’t believe it! Less than 48 hours until my marathon!

9 thoughts on “Taper Madness

  1. Pingback: Marathon Eve | Joy Runner

  2. God luck, you got this! If it helps, I’m sending good vibes for the 51 degree weather! And I do believe our bodies build up the immune system before a big event, so I think you’ll be fine cold wise!

  3. Laurel, good luck good luck and have a ball! I wish we could all be there for you from start to finish, but know that we are thinking of you. I can’t wait to read all about it. Now….go… wash your hands!

Leave a Reply

