Marathon Eve

I can’t believe it’s finally the day before my race. I started seriously training specifically for this race at the end of December when my sister and brother-in-law gave me the registration for Maine Coast Marathon as a Christmas gift. I had to survive running through the most miserable winter I’ve ever seen.

I ran on ice-covered roads after a horrible ice storm. I learned that there’s such a thing as a polar vortex and ran with my friend in -2 degree F weather (not including wind chill). I’ve done way more training for a race than I’ve ever done in my life. The farthest I ran before this training cycle was 15 miles. Now I’ve done 3×20-milers. I stupidly hurt my ankle kicking a chair on accident. I ran a half marathon a month ago… sick with a chest cough/throat thing. And lastly, I survived finals week without getting sick!

sooooooooo much ice!!!!

The yak tracks came in handy with the snow

The yak tracks came in handy with the ice

photo 1-3

the polar vortex didn't agree with my Raynauld's

the polar vortex didn’t agree with my Raynauld’s

my poor bike path! It only reappeared a little over a month ago.

my poor bike path! It only reappeared a little over a month ago.

 

I’ve put so much effort into training for this race. I know I’m ready. I’ve followed my training cycle so carefully and have put in the work. Now I just have to trust my training.

We’re officially in Maine hanging out in the hotel room. Here are some photos of from our trip.

oops. I think I packed too much.

oops. I think I packed too much.

 

me and Sammy on a road trip!

me and Sammy on a road trip!

Dad and Samson

Dad and Samson

We've landed!

We’ve landed!

Race swag from the expo.

Race swag from the expo.

 

Carbo loading!

Carbo loading!

unnamed

 

In 12 hours I’ll be running my first marathon. I can’t believe it! I’m so nervous and excited all combined in one. I’ll be posting an update tomorrow as soon as I can.

6 thoughts on “Marathon Eve

  1. Hi Laurel:

    I’ve been thinking about you all day and wondering how the race went. I’m anxious to read all about it!

    Looking forward to seeing you soon…

    Love, Millie

  2. Laurel, we are so looking forward to seeing you run. I love your blog from last night. I didn’t even know you were doing it! Your pictures with Sam were priceless. Looking forward to the start shortly. I know you are going to run just like a cheetah. Good luck!

  3. Uncle Mark and I are wishing u the very best – sure all of you will have hearts pounding – be safe, enjoy and your due-diligence is most admired!!!!Aunt Pat

Leave a Reply

