Bostoning it up!

Downtown-Boston-1-750x500

I definitely wouldn’t consider myself a city girl by any means, but if I had to choose a city to live in it would probably be Boston. That’s excluding Burlington, of course. According to CollegeBoard, Burlington is a “large town”, haha! Boston is small enough that you don’t feel completely lost, but doesn’t have the same attitude that you can find in some bigger cities like NYC.

I have officially used the T and commuter rail on my own without getting lost. SUCCESS! I’m sure I looked like a complete idiot looking at my map the first few times, but hey, I figured it out. Plus, the few people I asked for help with directions were exceedingly nice. My friends in my physics class laughed at me when I told them it was the first time going on the T by myself. Yep, I’m from the country.

unnamed

Apparently the college that I’m taking my summer classes at is not in a super safe area. There are two locations that the school is located in and I thought it was going to be in the other area. My class is in the evening and gets out around 9:15. Afterwards, the policemen that work at the school walk students over to the platform to catch the T. Ummmm, WTF? I guess we’re not in Vermont anymore.

My mom and I went and checked out the Friendly Toast yesterday in Cambridge. Breakfast is probably my favorite meal of the day, so that was perfect. I got some coconut pancakes with peanut butter on the side and a glass of soymilk. Yes, I eat my pancakes with peanut butter. Who doesn’t?!?! My mom got an omelet with beans, salsa, and avocado. Yum! There was a lot of sharing between plates of course. Sweet and salty compliment each other very well.

unnamed

coconut pancakes! I think I should’ve got a single stack, oops! I’ve got a lot of leftovers.

omelet with avocado, beans, and salsa. yum yum!

omelet with avocado, beans, and salsa. yum yum!

As far as running goes, I’m not that excited about running in Boston. I’m taking some downtime right now, but I’m sure once I get back on a normal running schedule I’m going to get bored pretty quickly. The running here is definitely limited. There are only so many variations you can do on the Charles. Plus, I hate to say it, but I miss my hills in Burlington! I’m scared I’m going to lose my hill fitness running in the city this whole summer. I’ll probably be coming out to my sister’s house on the weekends to search out some hillier routes. Check out the view from their back porch. Can you say paradise?

unnamed

All in all, I’m getting used to the city. It’s a big adjustment going from Vermont to Boston. The views from the tracks are definitely different. I miss the mountains, but Boston is growing on me in its own way.

unnamed

the track at UVM

unnamed

unnamed

MIT track

MIT track

What are you up to this summer?

14 thoughts on “Bostoning it up!

  1. Hi Laurel:

    You are most welcome to come to Quaker Hill for a weekend or longer! We have lots of hills—I often see the Conn. College students and Coast Guard Academy cadets running up and down them. Of course, you could also get to see some of the sites in our area, as well!

    I loved Boston when I was in my late teens, early 20s. To me it was a BIG SMALL TOWN! J

    Katerina Ballerina says “hi” and would love to see you! I’d welcome the opportunity to show you around and get to know you better—more personal than your wonderful BLOG!

    Love and best wishes,

    Millie

    • Thanks so much, Millie! I’d love to come visit you once all of the wedding-craziness is over. Thank you so much for offering! That would be awesome, and tell Katerina Ballerna I say hi as well! 🙂

  2. You’re lucky to be in one of my fave cities! Don’t worry, you’ll settle in soon and pretty soon you’ll be walking the security dude to his car! Or is it “cah”? 🙂

    • I know, I’m getting such a kick out of the accents here. There are houwahs, not hours, refrigeratahs, not refrigerators. It’s hilarious!

  3. Laurel- Hi – Tina here -Colby’s co-blogger at It’s a Marathon and a Sprint. I’m from Newton – lived 24 years in the Boston area – and will get you some good running spots. You can take the T to Boston College (end of the B train on the Green Line) and you will be just over the crest of Heartbreak Hill. Get off the train and run up Comm Ave (away from the way you came) and you can get a good run in just by running an out and back on Comm Ave that will involve at least 4 hills on your way out and the same 4 on the way back (the “Newton Hills” of the Boston Marathon route – the one closest to the T stop is Heartbreak Hill). BC is a gorgeous campus and situated next to a reservoir – great spot for running. Plus, it is in a hilly area. I also like to run up Comm Ave from Kenmore – you can run it up to Newton and back and there will be some hills, though not as much as if you run just in Newton. The Arnold Arboretum in Jamaica Plain is beautiful and safe in the daytime. Check out the Minuteman Trail – commuter bikepath developed from an old rail trail that starts in Cambridge and winds through the suburbs. It’s 11 miles long and you can see city change to suburb and then back again on your way back. Running along the Charles is beautiful, but there will be no need just to stick to that. I’m sure I’ll be able to think of more routes and I will send them along!
    Another runner friend and I are running the Heartbreak Hill Half on June 8 – it might be a good race for you to run if you are up for it after the marathon. Starts and ends at BC and will give you a good tour of Newton and its hills!

    • Thank you so so much, Tina! That was so nice of you! I’ll make sure to check all of those routes out – especially the hilly ones. The minuteman trail definitely sounds promising as I’m spending the summer in Cambridge – might be a nice place to get my long runs in. I hadn’t hear of it. Again, thank you so so much! I’m so excited to try these routes out! 🙂

  4. I’m glad to hear you miss Vermont because Vermont certainly misses you. I had to explain to Benji and Elway that they would have a different catsitter this summer (Sarah King) and they didn’t seem terribly pleased.

    • Yes, I definitely miss Vermont! I can’t picture myself settling down in a big city when I’m older, but Boston is fun to visit. Plus, I miss Benji and Elway. 😦 I’m sure Sarah will take good care of them, though!

  5. Run to Newton. You’ll get some hills Lady. 🙂
    Big adjustment for SURE, but fun! We love Boston. In fact, my co-blogger and running partner in crime, Tina is from Boston. I’m pointing her your way. She’ll hook you up. Us runners need to stick together.

  6. Run to Newton. You’ll get some hills Lady. 🙂
    Big adjustment for SURE, but fun! We love Boston. In fact, my co-blogger and running partner in crime, Tina is from Boston. I’m pointing her you’re way. She’ll hook you up. Us runners need to stick together.

    • Oh yeah, the Newton hills in the Boston Marathon, right? I’ll have to figure out how to get over there! Thanks for the advice – I feel like such a newbie. I’m proud that I’ve figured out how to get over to the Charles, haha.

  7. Once all this wedding craziness is over, I’ll take you to the Fells. Plenty of hills there, and the trails are really nice! Plenty of wildlife too… I’ve seen deer, herons, a porcupine, and a turkey really scared the crap out of us once!

    • That’d be great! Sounds like a nice place to run. That’s awesome about the wildlife – I got a kick out of the bunnies hanging around the MIT track the other day, haha.

Leave a Reply

