Throwback Thursday

A little while ago my mom found a hilarious picture of me running that I wanted to share with you guys. It was either when I was in 8th or 9th grade at the Dartmouth Relays. I think I was running the 800m.

My running form can range from pretty good to downright terrible depending on whether I’m focusing on it or not. Normally this is evident in my arm swing. When I don’t pay attention my arms swing across the front of my body. When I get really tired my arms will come up closer to my shoulders and look kind of ridiculous. You can see the range in my form in the pictures below – enjoy!

Looking good! I've got some good knee drive going on there.

Looking good! I’ve got some good knee drive going on there.

Just what... what on earth is happening with my right arm?

Just what… what on earth is happening with my right arm? It looks like my arms and body are going in two different directions.

How’s your form when you run? Do you have arm issues like me? 

 

10 thoughts on “Throwback Thursday

  1. Great trt pictures! I didn’t do track in school (I was a swimmer) but wish I would have given it a shot! My form gets atrocious at times! I’m always evaluating it in my race pictures. ..thinking “ugh…look at that heel strike!” Or “what in earth am I doing with my arms?!” It looks like despite slightly less than perfect form, you still totally kicked butt at track! You are awesome!

  2. Laurel, I think you have just forgotten what was happening in that race from so long ago! I’ll “jog” (running humor) your memory … In the last photo you were getting ready to whop whoever tried to pass you with an upper-cut followed by a possible round-house punch. No wonder they didn’t try to pass you! Dad

    • HA – yep, that’s totally what was going on, Dad. I think I probably should’ve buffed up my arms a little before trying those moves, though. Arms are looking a little bit wimpy, haha.

Leave a Reply

