Running Injuries and Touring Boston

unnamed

Running injuries come with the territory. When trying to reach your potential, you walk the line of getting injured. Almost every runner is going to deal with a running injury at some point in their life. I’ve heard of stats that say close to 80% of runners get injured at least once per year. Unfortunately, I’m pretty prone to getting running injuries. Piriformis syndrome, shin splints, patellofemoral pain syndrome, compartment syndrome, peroneal tendonitis. You name it, and I’ve probably dealt with it.

Since I’ve started training for longer distance races, the frequency of my injuries has decreased quite a bit. Funny how that works, right? My guess is that it’s a combination of less frequent racing, not wearing my spikes anymore, and running longer distance speed workouts. The short speed sessions make my calves flare up.

However, my latest complaints are an adductor and knee issue. Neither one has greatly affected my training, but just enough to make me pissed off.

My Thought Process as soon as I have to miss a workout

Oh my god, I’m soooo out of shape. I think I just spontaneously gained 10 pounds. I’m going to mess up my whole training schedule. What if I can’t run the race? Geez, I’m soooo out of shape. Quick, text my friend and complain to her (sorry, Dana).

This is when I have to tell myself, “Laurel, SHUT UP!” In case you couldn’t tell, I’m very Type A, so making myself stay calm is kind of difficult. Logically, missing one workout is not that big of a deal, but making myself BELIEVE it is a whole other story.

Boston

Luckily, my family and I have been vacationing this week, which has provided a nice distraction for me. I finally finished with my physics class last week and don’t head back to school until Sunday. Although I’ve been hanging in the Boston area this summer, there are so many things to explore and I still feel like I haven’t seen half of it! Here are a few pics of our adventures this week:

DUCK TOUR!!!

DUCK TOUR!!!

unnamed

cool gold teapot

cool gold teapot

cool rainbow crosswalk!

cool rainbow crosswalk!

Ducktouring under the Longfellow Bridge

Ducktouring under the Longfellow Bridge AKA the construction area that never ends

biking with the family on Cape Cod

biking with the family on Cape Cod

Running on one of my favorite running routes. Found a tunnel!

Running on one of my favorite running routes. Found a tunnel!

Penguins!!!! at the New England Aquarium

Penguins!!!! at the New England Aquarium

STINGRAY!

STINGRAY!

Meeting Myrtle the Turtle!

Meeting Myrtle the Turtle! She looked like she was posing for us.

unnamed

beautiful flowers at the Boston Public Garden

unnamed

Yes, my favorite color is pink. How would you know?

Yes, my favorite color is pink. How could you tell?

cute little birdy!

cute little birdy!

unnamed

Have you gone on any cool vacations lately? Dealt with any stupid running injuries? What is your thought process like when you get injured?

13 thoughts on “Running Injuries and Touring Boston

  1. Pingback: New Year | Joy Runner

  2. I’m both a dancer and a (budding) runner. I’ve had patellofemoral pain syndrome for over a decade. My doctor finally gave me a cortisone shot for it. I’ve been traveling almost all of August & through Labor Day. I immediately go down the “OMG! I’ve gotten so fat!! I’m going to be so slow!! There’s no way I can finish this race!!!” path. Then I have to mentally slap myself and get it together. I totally feel you there.

  3. Us runners sure do play mental games with ourselves, don’t we?
    Love the pics!!! I have a pick I took of that one building (I forget the name) hanging in our house. I remember there’s a subway stop under it and they read the Constitution from that balcony. That teapot is also special to me. I was a huge Ally MacBeal fan and my fave episode has a shot of it spewing steam out.

    • We sure do play mental games with ourselves. That building is so pretty – I love it. I forget the name as well, so don’t worry, lol. That’s awesome about the teapot! When we walked by it later in the day it had steam coming out of it. So cool!

  4. I saw your biking in Cape Cod picture! I love it there! I’ve had stupid running injuries in the past most recently I’ve been experiencing knee and IT band issues. It’s easy to get frustrated, and sometimes I do but overall I just focus on trying to make myself feel better. Good Luck!

    • Yes, I love the Cape as well. The bike path there is perfect for running too. I try to do the same thing as well. If I start to feel the onset of an injury, then I go into hyper-prevention mode. Ice, tape, ibuprofen, etc. Better to focus my energy into recovery than worrying. I hope your knee feels better!

  5. I have just been running since May but I already know a thing or 2 about running injuries. I pushed too hard and have shin splints issues. Sometimes I even feel some pain when I’m not running. I do have a lot more energy these days, but every day I wake up and I swear there’s something that hurts. I wouldn’t trade it for the world though. =)

    • As is the life of a runner. Yep, most runs there’s something that is going to bother me. Most times it’s a weird random thing, but other times it lingers for a few days. I hope your shin splints get better! Even with all the injuries, I wouldn’t trade my running for the world either. 🙂

    • I actually took that pick when I was running on Cape Cod. Sorry for the tease! There is a tunnel on the Charles, though. I believe it’s on the Boston side in the opposite direction of the Science Museum. It’s a ways away from where I live so I’ve only gone through it once.

  6. With double classes – u and Dad probably needed a vacation – pics. as usual are terrific –

    Where did the summer go????

    Be safe – luv APat

    Pat Hughes, pat.hughes@snet.net Hughes Realty Co.,Inc 48 church St. Rocky hill, Ct 06067

Leave a Reply

