Labor Day 15k Recap

The best adjective I can use to describe this race was painful. The course was great, the post-race food was great (most important part), but the weather just plain sucked.

When I checked the hourly weather forecast the day before the race there was a great big lightning bolt over the start. Luckily, it didn’t thunder, which meant the race wasn’t canceled. However, it rained hard earlier in the day and was kind of spitting rain/wind throughout. The rain wasn’t the problem, though. HUMIDITY was.

It felt more like a swim than a run – probably looked like it too as my clothes were drenched with sweat at the end. With every slight uphill my breathing increased way more than normal.

Screen-Shot-2012-07-31-at-3.22.47-PM

Although it definitely wasn’t a great race for me, I did get a good workout in. My cheeks were actually red when I finished, which almost never happens. Only when it’s really cold or really hot (apparently really humid too) do my cheeks turn red. My mom says she used to worry about me being anemic when I was younger because I didn’t have the same complexion as my siblings. Nope, I just don’t have rosy cheeks!

The course was nice. It was in South Burlington and I actually recognized most of the course because I run over there quite a bit. The first three miles were relatively flat with the big hills coming in the 4th mile. The 5th mile then had a gradual climb and the last 5k was flat to downhill.

There were some wicked fast runners in the race. Lately I’ve been running in smaller races, so it was nice to have some more competition. I also got my butt kicked by some incredibly fast masters runners. I hope to be as fast as them when I’m that age!

All in all, not the greatest race for me, but got a good effort in. I’m looking forward to my next few races now. I’m finally going to get the Color Run experience on September 13th with my sister. So excited! Then I’m doing the Downtown 10k on September 21st and the Baystate Marathon on October 19th.

 

Have you run any races recently? Any races planned for the fall? Ever run a race in extreme humidity?

11 thoughts on “Labor Day 15k Recap

  1. Pingback: Catching Up | Joy Runner

  2. Pingback: New Year | Joy Runner

  3. Humidity sucks, yesterday the city was like a massive sauna after a midday rain.
    I think my worse race was in Long Island, NY, mid August, 11am (suicidal). None of the people racing had a good race, the general feeling was “at least I finished/it’s over”.

    • It’s funny because normally things feel cooler after a rain, but the last couple days it hasn’t really had that effect. That race sounds horrible. Why would someone have an August race in the middle of the day?! Ewww!

  4. Pingback: Race Report: Labor Day 15K | Runner Under Pressure

  5. I had a similar experience yesterday with just a 5k. It’s not supposed to be 80 degrees with 70% humidity and completely sunny at 9am! Anyways, I didn’t have my best 5k time (I was off by ALOT), but I did push through to finish and that’s what’s important right? But heat and humidity gets to all of us, so you’re not alone! And if you keep up your training, you will definitely be one of those wicked fast masters runners one day 😀

    • Yep, you definitely had a similar experience to me. Glad to know I’m not alone! I can’t wait till this humid weather goes away. Heat is one thing, but heat and humidity is just horrible to run with. An easy run turns into a survival run. And you’ll be one of those wicked fast masters runners as well some day! 🙂

  6. Great recap. Totally relating to the humid swamp of a race! It was a really scenic course and GMAA did a great job with the race, but the hills just killed when combined with that humidity. Not the greatest race, but a good effort in is how a lot of us are feeling about it, I think!

    • Thanks, Dan! Yeah, hills plus humidity was not a good combo. Doesn’t help that I spent most of the summer training on flat terrain. Glad to know that you plus almost everyone I talked to was struggling on Sunday. Misery loves company, haha.

  7. Hi Laurel,

    Nice run and great recap! I am somewhat new to Vermont – just moved here last year. I had a brief running hiatus as I was pregnant and just had my first baby but now am looking for some running buddies! Based on some of your past race recaps, I think we run similar paces. Would love to get together for a run with you sometime. Shoot me an email if you’re interested.

    -Ana

Leave a Reply

