Post-Marathon Blues

After the long lead up to a marathon, there is a bit of a letdown once it’s all over. I never experienced the same feelings training for shorter races. The nature of the marathon requires a LOT of training. Since June I’ve spent countless hours training and most of my Sundays are devoted to running and recovering from my long run. Once the big day is finally over, you feel a bit lost. I keep finding myself saying, “Okay, now what?”

I’m the type of runner that likes to have a goal to train for. Don’t get me wrong; I like running for the sake of running. However, I LOVE to have a big race to prep for or some new goal to motivate me. I enjoy pushing my body to the extreme and finding new limits. When I don’t have something to train for I feel a bit lost.

Luckily, my sister and brother-in-law gave me race registration to the Wolf Hollow Half Marathon on November 23rd (thank you!). I ran it last year and although the weather was freezing, it’s one of my favorite races. The course is gorgeous – mostly on bike paths or nicely groomed trails. It’ll be fun to see if I can get a new PR. After running a 1:40 half marathon in a marathon like it was no big deal, I think I’m in store for a half marathon PR. I’ll also be running the Yulefest 5k in Cambridge in December. It’ll be a fun race. Although I’m definitely not in 5k-race shape and haven’t run one for well over a year, it’ll be good to give it a shot.

After that, though, I really am not sure what I want to run in the spring. Good thing I have a lot of time to think about it!

In the meantime, here are a few moments from last Sunday I forgot to share. I thought you might get a kick out of them. Enjoy!

Me before the start of the race. I'm sure I was thinking, "Why did I want to run a marathon again? Who thought that would be fun?"

Me before the start of the race. I’m sure I was thinking, “Why did I want to run a marathon again? Who thought that would be fun?”

Ian's salty face afterwards, haha! He wasn't happy that my dad wanted a picture.

Ian’s salty face afterwards, haha! He wasn’t happy that my dad wanted a picture.

Me after crossing the finish line thinking, "Did that just happen?"

Me after crossing the finish line thinking, “Did that just happen?”

Michael after the race taking a well deserved snooze!

Michael after the race taking a well deserved snooze!

Do you ever get the same feeling after a marathon? What upcoming races are you training for?

11 thoughts on “Post-Marathon Blues

  1. I feel ya! Once I finished my marathon a little lost – no runs I HAD to get up and run. I’m taking a few weeks off and then getting back to it. I think your half marathon is perfectly timed – what a great gift!

    • Glad someone can relate! Sometimes it’s hard listening to my head instead of my heart. I WANT to run, but that doesn’t always mean it’s the smartest decision.

  2. I go through stages of post-race euphoria where I consciously have to NOT sign up for anything because it would be too much too fast (learned the hard way), and then there’s the blues. Like, “what am I going to do with all my spare time?” blues. Always good to have a goal or take some down time after a big race!!

Leave a Reply

