Happy Blogiversary!

07C8W_Z

Today marks exactly one year since I started this blog. I can’t believe it! It feels like yesterday my sister and brother-in-law suggested I try blogging. I spent the beginning of my Thanksgiving break playing with formatting and building up the courage to hit the “publish” button on my first post. It’s been a whole year since JoyRunner became real!

I didn’t really know what I was doing. Let’s be honest; I still don’t really know what I’m doing. The good thing is that there isn’t a “right way” to blog. This is my own creative space to do whatever the heck I want with. There’s no rules or deadlines to adhere to. I do start feeling guilty when I haven’t posted in awhile, but it’s not like I’m going to get an F if I turn something in late.

I’m not a professional writer – far from it! I’m a junior-year science major that enjoys bolding random words, using improper grammar, and typing with CAPITAL LETTERS… because I can. I do hate when I find a typo in my blog after posting it, though.

For years prior I kept running journals where I would log my miles, my workouts, but also my everyday thoughts. Turns out I’ve got a bunch of weird things going on in my head. I decided to give it a shot and share those things with other people. Luckily, it’s gotten a positive response for the most part from you guys.

I’ve come to love blogging ALMOST as much as running. I love being able to share my ideas and connect with other people. I love coming on here and reading your comments. I love running into people that little known to me have been keeping up with my posts. I love creating my own personal space on the Internet. It’s just a lot of fun!

Here are the most popular posts as of today:

  1. My Compartment Syndrome Journey
  2. The Ultimate “If You Fall, Get Back Up.”
  3. Baystate Marathon Recap
  4. 4 Running Pet Peeves
  5. The Day I Realized I’m not a Sprinter
  6. Saying Goodbye
  7. Vegetarian Athletes DEBUNKED
  8. Bridge and Back 10k Recap
  9. Being Honest
  10. Wedding Weekend

Thanks to all of you for sticking with me along the way! Your support means a lot to me. Here’s to another fun-filled year. I hope you come along for the ride!

summer track meet

8 thoughts on “Happy Blogiversary!

  1. Yay! Happy Blogiversary to you and Joy Runner!! I know what you mean about finding errors after posting…aarg! But that’s the beauty of blogging. It’s our own thoughts typed out however we feel. I enjoy reading yours! Have happy weekend!!

    • Thanks, Jess! Yes, those typos are the worst. I hate when I find them DAYS after because I know most people have already read it. Luckily, no super embarrassing ones so far (knock on wood). Happy weekend to you too!

  2. How I have enjoyed your blog for the last year and look forward to continuing posts.. I am so proud to be a member of your extended family and SOO APPRECIATE you keeping us connected.🍁🍂

  3. Congratulations!!! Wow – hard to believe it’s been a year! Thank YOU for all the interesting reading, motivation, race recaps, entertainment, shout outs ;-), and insights that you’ve provided us with over the past year! Keep the blog posts coming – I’m an avid reader and look forward to each one!!

Leave a Reply

