Winter Woes

lake champlain 2

Winter can be a tough time for runners. The freezing cold, shorter daylight hours, and icy sidewalks don’t make things easy on us. I’m not a fan of the dreadmill to put it lightly as I’ve explained in previous posts and the indoor track makes my calves flare up. I was hoping the New Years spirit would give me some motivation, but things feel like a lot of effort at the moment.

Add on top of that my dear Aunt Snug passing away earlier this week and things have been kind of rough. She fought a brave 5-year battle with cancer, but it still doesn’t seem real. I feel like I should still be able to go over to the house for 4th of July and see her at the end of the table cracking jokes. My family knows how to laugh, and Aunt Snug definitely ranks near the top. It was oftentimes hard for her to be serious about much of anything because she was always laughing.

This is how I'll always remember her. What a bunch of goofballs.

This is how I’ll always remember her. She’s in the second row third from the left with a big grin on her face. What a bunch of goofballs we are. I’m in the pink jelly sandals in the front.

She was patient with me, though. She’d tell me how good my piano playing sounded after plucking away in the living room for hours probably playing the same songs over and over. Or she’d ask me about my running and wish me luck in my next race. I doubt the sport made much sense to her. Heck, most people don’t understand why I run, but she still whole-heartedly supported me.

She probably has the biggest will to live of anyone I know. Even battling stage 4 cancer she didn’t ever want to give up. It just reminds me how precious life is and how privileged I am to have it. All of us come with an expiration date and we don’t always know when that’ll happen, so we have to make the most of it while we’re here.

Aunt Snug, I hope you’re having fun up there playing with your cats and cracking some jokes. I hope it’s warmer up there because right now it’s close to 0 degrees. Rest in peace. I love you.

1549384_10202247008776085_1676763869620714977_n

Rest in Peace, Aunt Snug (left). I love you.

7 thoughts on “Winter Woes

  1. Laurel, you and your family have my deepest sympathy and understanding in the loss of your dear Aunt Snug! It is never easy losing a loved one especially when they’ve been so much a part of your life. I loved the picture when you, your brother, your sister and your Mom were a number of years younger. J It is amazing how quickly the years pass—when you’re a child, you think Christmas will never come; the older you get the faster the years go by, while we individually experience the wonders of life. You and our family are in my thoughts and prayers, Laurel! Love, Millie

  2. Am sure Snug is just as delighted to have you all in her life and is smiling down with great pride to be Your Loving, Witty and Most admired Aunt Snug! Our thoughts and prayers are with you all while your memories may help ease your sorrow. Luv APat Umark

  3. This is a beautiful tribute to her. You’re right, she didn’t understand the running thing; but she would cheer on anything you did:) So on those days that feel so hard to get out, just listen hard enough and you’ll hear her cheering you on! When I need motivation, I think of those I love and who have passed on and think how lucky I am to be here and able. It always helps. So bundle up and head on out. She would be happy for you<3

Leave a Reply

