Back to Reality

Lake Louise

Last Friday we officially made it back home from our wonderful trip. Although it’s only been a week it feels so long ago that we were cycling the west and snuggling into our sleeping bags at night.

The last time I gave an update we were in Nanaimo. From there we continued westward on Vancouver Island to check out Tofino and then spent a few days in Victoria, where we reached 2000 miles. We took a ferry back to the US to Port Angeles, took a hike on Sunset Ridge in the Olympic National Park, camped for the last time at our very first campsite (Manchester State Park) in Port Orchard, and finally went back to Seattle to catch our flight home.

my dad skipping stones on the ocean in Tofino

my dad skipping stones on the ocean in Tofino

taken at the Butchart Gardens

taken at the Butchart Gardens

more Butchart Gardens

more Butchart Gardens

over 2000 miles!

over 2000 miles!

beautiful Victoria!

beautiful Victoria!

Sunset Ridge

Sunset Ridge

This really was a trip of a lifetime and I’m so incredibly grateful that my parents and I were able to make it happen. I’ll never be able to thank them enough for bringing me along on this trip. I’m not sure I’ve ever been as happy as I was during those six weeks. It was like we were in our own little bubble of unreality where we didn’t have to think about real world problems. I’ll definitely miss the adventure of it all, that satisfying feeling at the top of a mountain pass, not knowing exactly what the next day will bring, and cracking up with my mom while secretly taking pictures of my dad sleeping … no, Dad, I won’t post the pictures. 😉 Heck, I’ll even miss getting lost from time to time.

I’m naturally a very practical person. I do the things that are expected of me in life and rarely spend my money on things outside my necessities. However, I don’t want to live my life being boring and not experiencing the things I dream of. This trip really made me realize that we only have so much time on this earth. We’re not guaranteed the next day in life so CARPE DIEM!

What’s next for me? I’m starting my senior year of college (I know, crazy!). In terms of athletics, I’m getting back into my normal running routine. I was able to keep up some mileage when I was biking and got a lot of practice running on tired biking legs. I know I’m fit right now, but biking fitness isn’t the same as running fitness. The sports use different muscles, so I’m planning on gradually building up this fall and possibly doing a couple of shorter races in October or November. My long-term focus will be on the Boston Marathon. Registration opens up in mid-September, so hopefully I’ll get a spot with my qualifying time.

at the beginning of our journey

at the beginning of our journey

6 thoughts on “Back to Reality

  1. Where did the four years go!!!! It was a breeze for us kiddo!

    UMark and I would love to host a “SHOW & TELL” for your Ct. Family-

    Your gift (one of many) of expression is so admired – enjoy all your blogs –

    Love you to (M&M candy) pieces –

    UMark UPat

  2. Welcome home “Joy Runner”! I have so enjoyed each and every one of your blogs. I am so happy for you that you got to Victoria and especially to the Butchart Gardens—magnificent, especially the history and was it became—spectacular! I have relived my trip through your blogs especially for the Canadian Rockies, Banff, Lake Louise, Jasper, the ice fields, Vancouver and Victoria! WOW! I look forward to our getting together this fall and hearing first hand from all three of you and your experiences.

    Have a great senior year in college and God bless you in all of your endeavors!

    Love,

    Millie

    • Thank you so much! Glad that you’ve been enjoying reading my posts. You sure have traveled a lot – I didn’t know you had gone to all of those places. Canada sure has some amazing sights to offer. Yes, I look forward to exchanging stories about our experiences in Canada. Have a great fall and see you soon! Love, Laurel

Leave a Reply

